Complete British News World

Staab is standing in the presidential election in Finland

Staab is standing in the presidential election in Finland

Stubb announces it X, formerly known as Twitter.

He writes: “It is a great honor and I thank you very much for the trust.”

Alexander Stubb, who belongs to the bourgeois Samlingspartiet, was the country’s prime minister between 2014 and 2015. He also served as finance minister and foreign minister.

The decision to propose Staub as a candidate was made unanimously by the party council in Samlingspartiet on Monday, according to reports howling.

– Alexander Stapp is clearly our strongest candidate. Orbo says he’s a great candidate.

In the presidential elections, among other things, Staub will face former Secretary of State Becca Haavisto. Haavisto, who also ran for president in 2012 and 2018, is believed to have had a crucial role in negotiations over Finland’s membership in NATO, among other things.

In addition to Stapp and Haavisto, the head of the Central Bank of Finland Olli Rehn, the real Finn Jussi Halla-Aho, Harry Harkemo from the small party Rörelse Nu, and the director of the Foreign Policy Institute Mika Altola are also running in the elections. .

The President of Finland is elected every six years and wields several important powers – particularly in matters relating to foreign and security policy. The president also signs laws, can in some cases veto bills, and is the commander-in-chief of the armed forces.

The presidential elections will be held on January 28, 2024. If none of the candidates receives more than half of the votes, a second round will be held on February 11.

Born April 1, 1968 in Helsinki

See also  Elin and Vera ended up in the middle of a shooting at Field's Mall

Married and has two children

– Ph.D

– Speaks Swedish, Finnish, English, French and German

– Member of the European Parliament 2004-2008

– Minister of Foreign Affairs 2008-2011

He was elected a member of the Riksdag in 2011

– Leader of the Samlingspartiet 2014-2016

– Minister of Europe and Foreign Trade 2014-2015

– Prime Minister 2014-2015

– Minister of Finance 2015-2016

– Vice President of the European Investment Bank 2017-2020