Complete British News World

Women's Ballon d'Or: The English quartet have been nominated for the award

Women's Ballon d'Or: The English quartet have been nominated for the award

Image source, Getty Images

Comment on the photo, Millie Bright, Rachel Daly, Mary Earps and Georgia Stanway all played for England in the Women's World Cup Final.

England's quartet of Millie Bright, Rachel Daly, Mary Earps and Georgia Stanway are among the nominees for the Women's Ballon d'Or, awarded to the best female footballer of 2023.

The four players helped the Lionesses reach the final of the 2023 Women's World Cup, where they lost to Spain.

Manchester United goalkeeper Earps won the tournament's Golden Glove award after four clean sheets.

Republic of Ireland captain and Arsenal player Katie McCabe was also nominated.

Spain and Barcelona midfielder Aitana Bonmatti, who was recently named UEFA Women's Player of the Year, is included.

Ponmati compatriot Alexia Putellas, who has won the award in each of the past two years, was absent after recently returning from a long-term injury.

Aston Villa's Daly finished as the WSL's top scorer last season and was named the Premier League Player of the Year.

“Amazing, being nominated for this award among the best players in the world is a massive honour,” Daly said on social media.

Also among the candidates is Japan's Hinata Miyazawa, who won the Golden Boot at the last World Cup after scoring five goals.

The 23-year-old midfielder recently joined Women's Super League side Manchester United.

Full list of candidates

Aitana Bonmatti (Spain and Barcelona)

Millie Bright (England and Chelsea)

Linda Caicedo (Colombia and Real Madrid)

Olga Carmona (Spain and Real Madrid)

Rachel Daly (England, Aston Villa)

Debinha (Brazil & North Carolina Courage/Kansas City)

Kadidiato Diani (France and Lyon)

Mary Earps (England, Manchester United)

Patricia Guijarro (Spain and Barcelona)

Yui Hasegawa (Japan and Manchester City)

Amanda Ellestedt (Sweden and Paris Saint-Germain/Arsenal)

Sam Kerr (Australia and Chelsea)

Mapy Lyon (Spain and Barcelona)

Katie McCabe (Republic of Ireland and Arsenal)

Hinata Miyazawa (Japan and Mainavi Sendai/Manchester United)

Lena Oberdorf (Germany and Wolfsburg)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Barcelona)

Ewa Bajor (Poland and Wolfsburg)

Salma Baralloelo (Spain and Barcelona)

Alexandra Popp (Germany and Wolfsburg)

Haile Raso (Australia, Manchester City/Real Madrid)

Alba Redondo (Spain and Levante)

Guro Ritten (Norway and Chelsea)

Wendy Renard (France and Lyon)

Fredolina Rulfo (Sweden and Barcelona)

Gilles Roord (Netherlands, Wolfsburg/Manchester City)

Khadija Shaw (Jamaica and Manchester City)

Sophia Smith (USA, Portland Thorns)

Georgia Stanway (England and Bayern Munich)

Daphne van Domselaar (Netherlands, Twente/Aston Villa)