Complete British News World

European Under-17 Women's Championship live broadcast: England and Norway match

European Under-17 Women's Championship live broadcast: England and Norway match

Everything you need to knowPublished at 19:15 3 May

BBC Sport

the past

The current champion is France, after beating Spain 3-2 in last year's final held in Estonia.

England finished third alongside Switzerland.

Germany currently holds the most titles with eight.

The tournament was held for the first time in 2008, and Germany won it after defeating France 3-0 in the final, and England ranked fourth.

European champion Lucy Bronze He was called up to the England under-17 squad in March 2007, aged fifteen.

She was also part of the team that finished fourth in the finals of the 2008 UEFA Women's Under-17 Championship. She only appeared in the semi-finals, but was still included in UEFA's list of players to watch from the tournament, both for her contributions to her attacking play. Or her speed on defense.

Present – Who should you look for?

Denny Draper, Leicester City player She made her WSL debut earlier this season and made four appearances for the Foxes' first team alongside scoring her first goal in a 5-2 win over Bristol City. like England No. 9 She scored ten international goals including a number of goals in qualifying which helped England reach the finals in Sweden.

Denny Draper in a WSL match for Leicester City WomenImage source, Getty Images
Comment on the photo,

Leicester City's Denny Draper is the prominent name in the England squad having made their Champions League debut earlier this season.


It consists of three stages: two qualifying rounds open to all qualifying countries and a finals stage consisting of 8 qualified teams.

In 2011, the tournament was expanded to include eight teams, and in 2014, the eight qualifying teams play a league system in two groups of four.

England finds itself in Group A alongside host Sweden, Norway and France. The second group consists of Spain, Belgium, Poland, and Portugal. Four teams will qualify from the group stage and advance directly to the semi-finals.

See also  Six Nations 2024: Fraser Dingwall says England need time to build 'connections' in attack